Hope Town Lighthouse, photo by Bob Foudriat

Mentors and Lighthouses

Michael Kennedy

--

“Lighthouses don’t go running all over an island looking for boats to save; they just stand there shining.” ~ANNE LAMOTT

We are the makers of our own destiny, the captains of our own ship. But every good captain makes the best use of lighthouses to avoid hazardous reefs and coastlines — and for safe harbor arrivals.

Mentors are much like lighthouses, beacons of hope, steady in resolve and there when you need them. But they won’t chase you down to offer insights, direction, advice or support. Instead, if you want help navigating your way through life, there are few ways more effective than seeking out and befriending a mentor.

West Point Lighthouse, also known as the Discovery Park Lighthouse, in Discovery Park, Seattle.

The mentors in my life include Jim Moran, Zig Ziglar and Glenn W. Turner.

Jim Moran taught me to look inside and outside of the automotive space for powerful ideas and strategies, document and share. He expressed great appreciation and gratitude for others, especially his Associates. More importantly, we all felt it. Never have I served with, or for, a better Boss.

With Jim Moran on his Gallant Lady Feadship

Zig Ziglar was my hero from the early 1980's. I read his books, invested in his tapes (back then we listened to audio cassettes), and I attended as many of his seminars as possible, including his Born To Win Seminar in Plano, TX (photo below, 1987).

Born To Win Seminar with Zig Ziglar and friends

The greatest two lessons I learned from Zig Ziglar:

“You can have everything in life you want, if you will just help enough other people get… what they want.”

And…

“People don’t care how much you know, until they know how much you care… about them.”

During the years of 2010 and 2011, I had the good fortune of knowing Mr. Ziglar and his family on a more personal level, and I discovered he was equally the legend off-stage as the one on-stage.

Zig Ziglar On-Stage
Off-Stage with Zig Ziglar and his wife Jean Ziglar (the “Red Head”), prior to a Success Seminar in Macon, GA.
Sunset at Heceta Head Lighthouse, Heceta Head State Park, Oregon. Photo by Randall J. Hodges.

My third mentor, Glenn W. Turner, got my attention when I read Rudy Maxa’s book, Dare to Be Great. I loved Mr. Turner’s Challenge to America and the force at which he delivered it. Mr. Turner continues to be an important friend and mentor in my life today, always providing inspiration, support and guidance when I seek it.

Growling with Glenn W. Turner at his home in Lake Mary, FL

All three mentors remind me of three great lighthouses. Not one of them chased me down to offer insights, direction, advice or support. I found them. And they have helped me navigate my way through life. For that, I’m grateful.

Sunset in Seattle: West Point Lighthouse on sandy point extending into Puget Sound from the base of Magnolia Bluff.

*********

Hey there, I’m Michael, I’m a passionate dad, writer, story builder, and life-long learner.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed it, tap that heart button below. I value your attention, it means a lot to me and it helps others see the story.

--

--